Jurassic World

Jurassic Park man. One of the highest grossing movies of all time, a landmark in American cinema, and one of Steven Spielberg’s best films. I love the original movie, and I’m sure most of you do as well. However, when I heard they were going to make yet, another sequel, I wondered if there was any creativity among Hollywood companies, then I saw the movie. Jurassic World is directed by Colin Trevorrow and written by: Rick Jafa, Amanda Silver, Colin Trevorrow, and Derek Connolly. Stars: Chris Pratt, Bryce Dallas Howard, and Vincent D’Onofrio. Premise-Jurassic Park has reopened (despite multiple deaths occurring in it) and it is a very popular attraction. However, when one of their exhibits disappears, the leaders of the Park must attempt to find it while not causing a panic.

I’ll begin with the positives. One thing I was majorly concerned about was Chris Pratt. Yes he is funny, but that is what most people think of when they hear his name, “Oh yeah, that funny guy from Parks and Recreation/The Lego Movie/Guardians of the Galaxy”. I didn’t think he could pull-off a role as dramatic as this. As I watched the movie, I saw a determined, serious, witty, and overall, likeable character portrayed by Chris. I am very glad I was wrong as Pratt (and his character) is the best part of the movie (even though he shows up 20 minutes in). As for the rest of the cast, I’ll get to them later. The set pieces are also very cool to look at, and occasionally the CGI can look impressive. The jokes are hit and miss, but when they get a funny one, it hits home. The score (composed by Michael Giacchino) is wonderful, and they even kept the original theme (which I believe every sequel should do)! The direction is solid (little to no shaky cam). There are some references here and there that will delight your nostalgic memories, and the producers do something incredible for the climax.

The first negative I have to mention is the groan-inducing product placement! This is some of the most blatant, annoying, in-your-face product placement I have ever seen! Heck, some lines of dialog are even devoted to it (Transformers 3 levels man! Transformers 3 levels!). Now the actors. To their credit, they try to be convincing in this movie, but because their characters are written so poorly (with the exception of Pratt’s character), it overshadowed their talent. I mean that, every dang character who is not copy-pasted from the original film is a cliché. Oddly enough, this movie even kept some of the sub-plots from Jurassic Park, as well as the stupid parts of the story. Oh yeah, this movie has many stupid moments. In one scene, people stare at the dinosaurs which are literally 15 feet in front of them instead of running for their lives. The worst offender though, would be the inconsistency of the technology in this movie. Have you seen the trailers? In them, you can clearly ascertain that they have these huge buildings, computers, and flashy lights. In the movie, they use the excuse of electricity and satellite problems 3 times! My LG (not smart) phone has better reception than your “technologically advanced” computers and satellites! You know the worst part of this movie though? It is completely pointless. As stated above, it takes all the characters, storylines, and even some iconic moments from the original and rehashes them. I hear this was initially supposed to be a reboot of Jurassic Park (who wants that?), but instead was changed to a sequel due to production problems.  Although it felt a lot more like a remake than a sequel.

Believe me, just like Mockingjay Part 1, I tried my hardest to find positives here (because both these movies seemed pointless), but throughout watching this thing, it felt like a remake, and like most remakes it failed to be its own movie while keeping the tone of the original product. It has its moments, but ultimately Jurassic World is just another popcorn flick I would advise you to avoid and instead watch the original masterpiece. This gets Guy’s Guru Grade of a C-.

Leave a Reply

