Update-My Current Situation

Remember that follow-up post I mentioned in my Finding Dory review (and the San Andreas review)?  Here it is, in all its super-late glory.  Truth be told I have been working on this dang thing since I posted the Finding Dory review!  I didn’t get writer’s block, I was consistently unsatisfied with how it turned out.  The early drafts came across as whiny or confusing, and since I don’t want to get myself in trouble, this final draft is going to be short and to the point.  This is something (a vlog in written form) I haven’t done before.  Since I don’t ever want to upload something that poorly gets my point across, I have spent awhile to make sure I stay on track.  Ultimately, I have decided to wait for a more appropriate time (assuming I even get around to it) to rant about this year.

There will not be a review of Disney Channel’s Adventures in Babysitting (2016). To be honest, that movie is one of Disney Channel’s least bad. I say Disney “Channel” because nearly all of the pandering corporate nonsense of Disney goes into their 4 child-targeted channels.  Let me tell you, the only things worth watching on those annoying channels are the actually good Disney movies that they air every so often.  Even then, they fill up so much time with commercials it would take you 3 and ½ hours to watch The Incredibles!  Ok, this is not a Disney channel rant Erick, get back on track.  Point is, there are worse “original movies” on those channels (Teen Beach Movie, Radio Rebel, Frenemies, 16 Wishes, etc.) than Adventures in Babysitting.  I was mostly angry at the pretentious marketing, which called it, “The movie event of the summer!”  Here is what the movie boils down to; an unapologetic rip-off filled with youth (especially millennial) stereotypes, bland slapstick humor, and poor acting.  The only thing good about the movie is Sabrina Carpenter, who looks like she’s actually trying to have fun.   I thought the original film was a pretty decent comedy with a wildly original premise.  It does get kinda lost in a pile of awkward scenes and 80s cheese, but I do have to thank it for starting the careers of actress Elizabeth Shue and director Chris Columbus.  Again, sorry for the lack of review, but I just don’t have the time.  If you were wondering, I give it a grade of a D.

The last thing I have to tell you is that I will be at a camp from the 8th to the 12th of this month.  Therefore, I will be completely inactive on Twitter (let’s see how many followers I lose).  I will be back in time to review the sure-to-be-crappy Ben-Hur remake, but Jason Bourne is going to be put on hold.  By the way, I haven’t seen/reviewed Star Trek Beyond because I haven’t seen any of the previous films.

Thank you for understanding.  These last two weeks have been a bit crazy/stupid to me.  See ya in a week!

Leave a Reply

